top of page


By Roseline Oghnebrumeh

The former military ruler General Muhammadu Buhari born on the 17th December 1942 has become the first opposition candidate to win a presidential election in Nigeria.  The election held on the 28th of March 2015 in the 36 states of the Nigeria including the FCT involving 14 political parties despite the hitches from card readers, late arrival of INEC officials at polling units, NURTW etc.

The announcement was made by the Chairman of INEC, Professor Attahiru Jega on the 31st of March 2015 after the completion of the collation and announcement of results from across Nigeria which started at the collation center in the FCT on Monday March 30th and ended on Tuesday March 31st 2015. He declared the APC candidate as the winner of the presidential election having satisfied the requirements of the law and scoring the highest number of votes.

General Muhammadu Buhari having contested for the third time (in 2003, 2007 and 2011) beat incumbent Goodluck Jonathan by more than 2.5million votes as shown from the final results. He got the highest number of votes in 21states while President Goodluck Jonathan won 15states and the FCT. The victory is highly significant in Nigeria as never in the history of Nigeria has a sitting president been defeated in an election and also it is the second time since 1999 that a retired military officer would become the president of Nigeria.

The APC candidate won in Adamawa, Bauchi, Benue, Borno, Gombe, Jigawa, Kaduna, Kano, Katsina, Kebbi, Kogi, Kwara, Lagos, Niger, Ogun, Ondo, Osun, Oyo, Sokoto, Yobe and Zamfara while the PDP candidate prevailed in Rivers, Plateau, Taraba, Nasarawa, Imo, Enugu, Ekiti, Edo, Delta, Ebonyi, Cross River, Bayelsa, Anambra, Akwa-ibom, Abia and the FCT.

General Muhammadu Buhari for the first time won states outside the northern region in Nigeria. He won all the states in the South-west except Ekiti.

Table showing states, political parties and winner.S/NSTATEAPCPDPWINNER1EKITI120,331176,466PDP2OGUN308,290207,950APC3ENUGU14,157553,003PDP4KOGI264,851149,987APC5OSUN383,603249,929APC6ONDO299,889251,368APC7FCT146,399157,195PDP8OYO528,620303,376APC9NASARAWA236,838273,640PDP10KANO1,903,999215,779APC11JIGAWA885,988142,904APC12KATSINA1,345,44198,937APC13KWARA302,146132,602APC14KADUNA1,127,760484,085APC15ANAMBRA17,926660,762PDP16ABIA13,394368,303PDP17AKWA-IBOM58,411953,304PDP18IMO133,253559,185PDP19PLATEAU429,140549,615PDP20EBONYI19,518323,653PDP21NIGER657,678149,222APC22LAGOS792,460632,327APC23BAYELSA5,194361,209PDP24GOMBE361,24596,873APC25CROSS RIVERS28,368414,863PDP26RIVERS69,2381,487,075PDP27ADAMAWA374,701251,664APC28ZAMFARA612,202144,833APC29KEBBI567,883100,972APC30BENUE373,961303,737APC31BAUCHI931,59886,085APC32YOBE446,26525,526APC33EDO208,469286,869PDP34TARABA261,326310,800PDP35SOKOTO671,926152,199APC36DELTA48,9101,211,405PDP37BORNO473,54325,640APC

From the Table, the APC candidate pulled a total of 15,424,921 votes to defeat the PDP candidate who got 12,853,162 votes.

1 view0 comments


bottom of page